Wednesday, July 30, 2014
The John Little Society is pleased to announce an installation of outdoor sculpture by artist William King at the historic Duck Creek Farm in Springs, East Hampton, opening Sunday June 29, and on view through August 4, 2014. A reception for the artist will be held on Sunday June 29, from 4-8pm (parking adjacent on Squaw Road).
A major figure in contemporary American sculpture, Bill King has been a consistent presence in both the New York and East End arts communities for over six decades. A true vanguard, King bucked the trend of abstract expressionism, creating figurative works that for generations have been embraced for their unique humor and energy. In 1973, New York Times art critic Peter Schjeldahl stated, “King’s sculpture is formally inventive and sophisticated, and his semi-abstract representations of the human figure obviously distill a lifetime of exceedingly fine observation. Central to his comedy is the revelation of human emotions in a social context.” The April 2014 issue of Artforum contained a review of King’s most recent exhibition in which Barry Schwabsky claims, “Sixty years after William King’s first New York gallery show, his art looks as fresh as ever.”
William King at Duck Creek Farm will consist of several large-scale outdoor aluminum sculptures playfully arranged throughout this pastoral site. Each of King’s works is elegantly choreographed and engineered, their economical compositions transforming simple geometry into delicate human gesture. The captivating scale, good humor, and humanity in King’s open-air sculpture embody the spirit of public art, engaging our community’s sense of place and rich cultural history.
About Duck Creek Farm and The John Little Barn
Founded in 1795, the historic Duck Creek Farm was originally owned and operated by three generations of the Edwards family, until 1902 when the property was broken up. The core of their farm holdings consisted of 130 acres along the eastern shoreline of Three Mile Harbor.
In 1948 artist John Little purchased a 7-½ acre parcel of this property, to which he moved a late 19th century barn that he had acquired from the Gardiner Family. Little used the barn as a studio, and converted a section into an apartment where many illustrious artists of that period spent their summers, including Robert Motherwell and Franz Kline. Duck Creek Farm is a significant historical landmark that played an important role for the colony of East Hampton artists from the 1950’s and 1960’s. In 2006, the Town of East Hampton purchased this splendid historical property with monies from the Community Preservation Fund.
This exhibition was organized by art consultant Jess Frost, in collaboration with The John Little Society.
To support this and future programming at Duck Creek Farm, please make checks payable to the “Town of East Hampton” with “Duck Creek Art Exhibit” noted in memo. Mail to: East Hampton Town, 159 Pantigo Rd, East Hampton, NY 11937.